Idiot Savant Online

John Lichman's third attempt at a personal blog and online savanting idiotic.

It Came From My Archives…The Utter Despair Top 5 Films with The Futurist!

leave a comment »

I’ve recently decided to get all my old clips together as I suffered the loss of all my old posts on the original Spout Blog. These are reposts of the original posts on my personal blog so there’ll be a properly formatted version. This was a planned weekly segment that dried up…after this one. I kind of liked the idea behind it and always wanted to redo it. This was supposed to be a sister to the Five Favorite Films bucket on the Rotten Tomatoes Show. From the Current_Movies Blog.

The exclamation point isn’t a typo, but this is The ___________ Top 5 Films with _______! This week we’re peering into the inner depths of utter despair the only way I know how: by talking to someone from New Jersey.

The Futurist! appeared as a commenter on The House Next Door to a podcast of dubious intent. And at first, I assumed he “wasn’t real.” But he turned out to be quite real, and his musings from Utter Despair, New Jersey are something I now look forward to on a regular basis. He was also a particularly helpful resource when thinking about Werner Herzog remakes for Hannah Montana: The Movie (“Nastassja Kinski as Pop Singer Schizophrenic. Has sex with father Klaus Kinski & square dances”) and Snakes Monkeys on a Plane (“Herzog unleashes 100 squirrel monkeys on jet liner after takeoff. Films resulting melee & narrates.”)

Best of all, when asked for his Top 5, he went far beyond the call and gave me three lists to choose from–which, if you saw them, would be impossible. So I’m going with his first choice since it so aptly defines his character and the image I’ve grown anxious to see on a daily basis pop up in my tweet-deck or email.

As usual: I email someone to find out their top 5, they respond and I publish verbatim what is given to me. But mainly I want their Top 5 films of a certain genre or mentality.

Without further ado, The Utter Despair Top 5 Films with The Futurist!

;

WINTER LIGHT directed by Ingmar Bergman (1962)

INTERIORS directed by Woody Allen (1978)

HARAKIRI directed by Masaki Kobayashi (1962)

NOI ALBINOI directed by Dagur Kari (2003)

CHINATOWN directed by Roman Polanski (1974)

Leave a Reply

